cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Content-Type setting for downloading using dropbox api v2

Content-Type setting for downloading using dropbox api v2

Anoop_Brijmohun
Helpful | Level 6
Go to solution

Good-day, 

im busy trying to write a simple app to download files from dropbox.

im a newbie to mobile dev and asistance would be appricated.

im am receiving this error when downloading.

Dropbox.Api.BadInputException: Error in call to API function "files/download": Bad HTTP "Content-Type" header: "application/x-www-form-urlencoded".
 Expecting one of "text/plain", "text/plain; charset=utf-8", "application/octet-stream", "application/octet-stream; charset=utf-8".

var aHttpClient = new HttpClient();
                aHttpClient.DefaultRequestHeaders.Add("Content-Type", "application/octet-stream; charset=utf-8");
                var aDorpboxConfig = new DropboxClientConfig("ApplicationName") { HttpClient = aHttpClient };

using (var dbx = new DropboxClient("Key_Here", aDorpboxConfig))
                {

Dropbox.Api.Files.DownloadArg dargs = new Dropbox.Api.Files.DownloadArg(content.Path + "/" + content.Name) ;

using (var response = await dbx.Files.DownloadAsync(dargs))
                    {
                        var file = await response.GetContentAsStringAsync();

}
                }
1 Accepted Solution
8 Replies 8

DBX_Robert
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

There does not appear to be a need for a custom HTTP client in the sample code you have provided.  Is the custom HTTP client necessary, or can your code function without one?