cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Create a form to upload file to Dropbox file request folder

Create a form to upload file to Dropbox file request folder

pep11
Explorer | Level 3

I am completely new to API development having only limited coding experience. My goal is to create a form that allows the user to upload a file to a Dropbox file request folder. If Dropbox file request allowed you to enter text along with uploading a file, then I wouldn't have this need.

How do I tell the form where to upload the file? Also wondering the best way to store the data captured in the form.

6 Replies 6

Greg-DB
Dropbox Staff
The Dropbox API doesn't offer a way to programmatically upload to file requests, but I'll pass this along as a feature request.

You can use the Dropbox API to upload directly to a folder though, as long as your app is authorized to access the account. To upload programmatically, you can use /2/files/upload:

https://www.dropbox.com/developers/documentation/http/documentation#files-upload

That accepts the full path for where you want to put the uploaded file.

That's a link the documentation for the HTTPS endpoints themselves, but we recommend using one of the official SDKs if possible:

https://www.dropbox.com/developers/documentation

Those have corresponding native methods for the HTTPS endpoints.

I can't offer general data storage advice outside of using the Dropbox API though, and the "best way" would depend on the needs of your app anyway.

pep11
Explorer | Level 3

Thanks Greg.