cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropbox API - retrieve permissions of an app

Dropbox API - retrieve permissions of an app

grahamsnumber
Explorer | Level 3
Go to solution

Hi, all. Is there an API to retrieve the permissions of an app? I'm very new to the Dropbox API, and haven't been able to find this.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Greg-DB
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Thanks! That's correct, there isn't currently a way to programmatically list team-linked apps. (If you're using a Dropbox Business API with auditing access, you can look up 'app_link_team'/'app_unlink_team' events from /2/team_log/get_events[/continue], but that's not a great solution. It would be more work to implement and be less efficient.) I'll send this along as a request for a proper way to list team-linked apps and their permissions, but I can't promise if or when that might be implemented though. 

Also, it sounds like you're referring to the deprecated /2/team/linked_apps/list_team_linked_apps endpoint. That didn't actually let you list "team-linked" apps, but rather list the (user-linked) apps for members on the connected team. We replaced it because it was confusingly named.

And yes, there is a "Select" Access" permission, mentioned in this help center article. That's a different kind of app, but it will come up in the list_members_linked_apps/list_member_linked_apps lists, with "is_app_folder": false. (The API unfortunately does not offer enough granularity to distinguish between different kind of non-app folder apps.)

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Greg-DB
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution