Announcements
Can you spare 5 minutes to help us improve our online support experience? Get involved!

Steering iOS dropbox app to go to a folder location

Explorer | Level 3

Hi people,

I need to guide people from an external app (FileMaker Go) to the correct dropbox folder. I found something but it's probably a bit of a hack, and it only works with shared folders. I use 

"dbapi-6://1/viewLink?url=" with the encryped path of a shared folder link. It works fine,  the dropbox app activates and goes to the correct folder. But again, it's not documented and I would like this to work with folders within a shared folder. But looking at the list_files instruction in the API, it only has those encryped file paths for shared folders. So I'm looking for a way to drive the DropBox app to select one of those, using a similar simple URL method. It could be simple, but I'm a bit of noob in this dropbox API, and I just don't see it.

1 Accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Steering iOS dropbox app to go to a folder location

Dropboxer
Unfortunately, we don't currently have a good/documented way deep link to paths in the app like this, but I'll be sure to pass this along as a feature request.
4 Replies

Dropboxer
Unfortunately, we don't currently have a good/documented way deep link to paths in the app like this, but I'll be sure to pass this along as a feature request.

Explorer | Level 3
Thanks for your clear and immediate reply. And for passing this along to development. I hope this feature request makes it.

Explorer | Level 3

Hi,

I know I should be looking at the documentation first before asking this again, but maybe someone can quickly answer this one with a yes or no. The customer just asked me again, now almost 3 years later. Has dropbox meanwhile implemented an API method to "deep link paths" in the app?

Dropboxer

No, unfortunately we still don't offer an official way to do this. Apologies I don't have better news for you!

API Support