Announcements
Do you have an idea for Dropbox Paper? Share it with us here!

Testing Dropbox for Business using Developer Account

New member | Level 2

Is it possible to do such a thing with only a free Developer Account? I have built a "team" and included a team admin, in addition I've got a business app and setup the oauth details, however after I login with the team admin I get:

You must be a team administrator to authorize this app. Either login to a Dropbox for Business admin account, or contact an existing administrator for your team.

So, I am a team admin (or more accurately the account I am using is), is this failing because I haven't purchased a Dropbox for Business account? I don't need the service, I just need to write an App against it.

Any suggestions?

6 Replies

Re: Testing Dropbox for Business using Developer Account

Dropboxer
Yes, you'll need a Dropbox Business account for this. A free account won't work, but you can use a trial:

https://www.dropbox.com/business

I'll send this along as a request for a better way to test this.

New member | Level 2

Thanks Greg, that's a pain, but it's out of your direct control.

New member | Level 2

Hi Greg, has there been any progress on this? Since the trial is only 30 days, doesn't really do the trick long term.

Highlighted

Explorer | Level 3

Feels good to see the company replying responsibly.

Source: https://www.techwhoop.com/download-cisco-anyconnect/

Dropboxer

@Ben_Indy No, unfortunately I don't have any news on this.

We appreciate the feedback though! I'll send it along to the team.

Dropboxer

We now have the ability to offer developers access to a free Dropbox Business Development Account. This will allow you to test your app using a standard Dropbox Business team. You can request one using this online form. Once the team approves your request, you’ll be sent instructions by email to set up your development account.