cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where should I locate the 'startOAuth2Authentication'?

Where should I locate the 'startOAuth2Authentication'?

Dolphin_2018
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

Hi,

Question 1:

I'm totally new to Android Studio and I have to add a DropBox (SDK V2) files loading method to an existing project. As I understood I have to add the following line to my code:

Auth.startOAuth2Authentication(UserActivity.this, getString(R.string.app_key));

as shows here in line 36:

https://github.com/dropbox/dropbox-sdk-java/blob/master/examples/android/src/main/java/com/dropbox/c...

But where should I add it in MY code?

I tried to add the line to the place in my code that looks most logic to me, to the file "MainActivity.Java", here:

@TargetApi(23)
@Override
protected void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) 
{
super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);
}

but I'm getting an error: "Cannot resolve symbol 'Auth'".

So I tried to add the following to the top of this file as shown in the "Android" example project:

import com.dropbox.core.android.Auth;
import com.dropbox.core.examples.android.internal.OpenWithActivity;
import com.dropbox.core.v2.users.FullAccount;

and I'm getting the error: "Cannot resolve symbol 'core'"

I tried "Clear Project", "Rebuild Project" and also I tried "Invalidate Caches/Restart..." but the error still there.

What should I do in order to remove this error? and anyway what are all this "import" lines? are these names of a .jar files? where should I find them? and put them? or are these modules inside the DropBox SDK?

Question 2:

Later I have to add this to my code: