cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

files/download giving 400 with an HTML page body from one host but not another

files/download giving 400 with an HTML page body from one host but not another

David A.114
Helpful | Level 5

Hi,

I'm a developer on UpdraftPlus, a WordPress backup plugin with around 250,000 users who send to their Dropbox.

We're having a problem with a few users who, when trying to download their backups, get an HTTP 400 code. We have now been given access to a site where this happens, and produced a simple test script (PHP, using curl) that makes a single POST to https://content.dropboxapi.com/2/files/download .

The test script contains all hard-coded details (e.g. the Authorization: header and download path). When this test script is run on our PHP install, it always succeeds: i.e. the expected file from the user's Dropbox is downloaded. However, when the identical PHP script is run on our user's PHP install, it always fails with an HTTP 400 error. The body returned is not JSON or error data, but HTML. If you save it and then view the HTML in a browser it looks like the screenshot I've appended at the bottom of this message (also see at https://snag.gy/QHiLqY.jpg ).

Here's a pastebin for the test script - as I say, on our server it always successfully downloads the user's file; on his, the identical script always fails with the 400 result: http://pastebin.com/FKbqK4Tx. It also always succeeds if I try the same parameters via a command-line call to /usr/bin/curl on our test machine.