Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

default

yes

Dissociating business and personnel accounts

New member | Level 2

Hello!

I would like to dissociate my business and personnel account, as the team that I had joined (and who invited me to DBox for business) is erasing their accounts, as the project is over.
I can't seem to find the option "dissociate" account under the settings of my account, it looks like if my personnal account had been erased.

How can I do that?
Thanks,
Flora 

3 Replies

Re: Dissociating business and personnel accounts

Dropboxer

Hello Flora - how are you today?

First off, have you connected your personal account with the team one upon onboarding or did you just join the team with your own account in the first place? 

If the former, you can disconnect your accounts via your account settings by visiting https://www.dropbox.com/account or you can also access this page by doing the following: 

1) Log in to https://www.dropbox.com.
2) Click on your name in the top right corner.
3) Click Settings.

Under "Connected Dropboxes" you will see an option to disconnect your personal and work Dropboxes. 

If you disconnect your paired accounts then the account that was linked to your devices second will be unlinked from those devices.

If the latter, your team's Admin will be able to remove you from the team, converting your account back to an individual one. At this point, I'd suggest that you contacted them to do this; if needed that is. 

I hope this information helps and please let me know if there's anything else I can do for you @floravever!

 


Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...

Re: Dissociating business and personnel accounts

New member | Level 2

Walter, does anything get deleted when you disconnect? Does each account's storage change?

Reply
Loading...

Re: Dissociating business and personnel accounts

Dropboxer

Hey @Leanne H.1,

When you disconnect the accounts, nothing within or about the individual accounts will change. No files will be deleted and the storage for each account remains the same. 

As Walter mentioned, if you have both accounts currently syncing to your desktop, then the account you linked to the desktop app second will be unlinked. You'll still be able to access the account online as usual though.

Let me know if you have any other questions - Thanks!




Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! 

Reply
Loading...
Manage Account

Have a question? Our Dropbox Community is here to help!

Post your question or search for an answer below.


Learn more about using the Community by reading our Community Guidelines.


Hi anonymous,

If you need more help you can log a ticket with our Support Team here (expected response time 24 hours), or contact us on Twitter or Facebook.

For more info on available support options, see this article.

If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!

Dissociating business and personnel accounts
361 Views
3 Replies
0 Likes
Solved! : See solution
Who's talking
Top contributors to this post