Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

no

Re: Price increase; let me explain what your marketing "experts" just did;

Helpful | Level 6

I am quite sure they did the math to determine what would let them compete, unlike you.

New member | Level 2

I am also about to cancel my account, after years of being a customer. I have a OneDrive subscription already with my MS account, and I also have an iCloud account for my photos (because I was never happy with how slow and clunky the Dropbox photos were). So, since I am using only 8% of my storage here, this is enough to spur me into action to break up with Dropbox. 

It's not me, Dropbox, it's definitely you. 

Re: Is anyone else furious at the upgrade to 2TB and extra $60 a year without consent?

Helpful | Level 5

@bjg37  They certainly have the right to change whatever plan they have after each billing period.

Similarly, it is also perfectly legal for all of their customers to change to their competition. This is not a question about legality, but about what is reasonable to pay for this kind of service.

Helpful | Level 5

OneDrive is 1TB basically free if you have Office 365 subscription. 

Helpful | Level 6

FWIW I've been using pCloud for a few days and, so far, I'm pretty happy with it. It took a little while to copy all my Dropbox stuff over, but I didn't have to sit and watch it happen. The Linux client for pCloud is rather different from that for Dropbox, both in its presentation to the user and the way it works internally. I can't comment on the Windows client yet, because I haven't so far used it (but I will shortly).

pCloud potentially offers a security benefit over DB, in that it can store customer's files in a format that is invisible to the service. DB encrypts, but on its own terms, and in a way that the service provider can still see file contents if they want. I don't know how many people need this extra security and, for my part, I don't want to pay extra for it.