cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

default

yes

70 Views
3 Comments
0 Likes
Highlighted
Level 2

Is there a way to create a warning when moving/ deleting files?

Is there a way in the settings to provide a warning for moving or deleting files? 

3 Replies
Dropboxer

Re: Moving/Deleting files

Hey there - @eabranch!

Assuming that you have our desktop app installed, you should be getting a warning when first trying to do this (i.e. move or delete) to inform you accordingly which in turn lets you keep the warning for similar actions in the future or dismiss it (if you've missed this warning the first time please re-install our app to bring it back). 

If you're interested in preventing your team's members from permanently deleting files (assuming you're the team's admin) please take a look here:

https://www.dropbox.com/help/business/prevent-permanent-deletion

Let me know how this goes please!




Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...
Level 2

Re: Moving/Deleting files

Thank you. I was hoping there was a way to push the settings to everyone but I suppose that would be difficult on the desktop app. 

On another note but somewhat related:
https://www.dropbox.com/help/business/prevent-permanent-deletion

Do you know if we turn off deletion, does this mean users can't delete their own files? We still want users to have the ability to delete their own files they upload just not other peoples. Is this possible? 

 

Reply
Loading...
Dropboxer

Re: Moving/Deleting files

Are their personal files within their team accounts or in their linked, personal accounts @eabranch?

If the former, you'd need to sign in as them (assuming that you're on a plan that offers the "Sign in as user" feature (currently available to Dropbox Business team on the Adavnced or the Enterprise plan) and handle the deletions yourself since you're practically the owner of their files if they chose to accommodate their personal files in their team accounts. 

If the latter one, note that these settings will affect their team accounts - not their linked individual ones. 

I hope this helps clear things up to some extent and please keep me posted on your progress.




Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...
Business Admins Support

Have a question? Our Dropbox Community is here to help you find an answer!
You won’t have to wait too long for a reply, but why not learn more about the Community while you’re here.

Not the right discussion for you? Find out what else our Community has to say about Dropbox Business.

Or, search our Help Center for even more.

Who's talking
Top contributors to this post