cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

default

yes

Highlighted

Personal Folders in Dropbox Business

Level 2

I opened a Business Trial account, and it swallowed my Personal account inside it as a Folder. I don't want that; I want to keep my personal account separate. But when I disconnect them, I get a screen that tells me to start a brand-new Dropbox. Now I'm afraid that when the trial runs out I won't be able to access my Personal folder. Is my former Personal folder supposed to be inside my Business account, and will I still have access when my Business Trial Period is over? Thank you.

3 Replies

Re: Personal Folders in Dropbox Business

Dropboxer
Dropboxer
Hi there, it sounds like you created the Dropbox Business plan on the same email you use for your personal account. 
 
If you want to keep them separate, you need to create a new personal account now, or, prior to the upgrade, create a new Dropbox account and upgrade that one to Business.
 
Your personal account would now technically be considered the Business account since you upgraded it. If you want to return it to a personal account, you’ll need to cancel the trial, and then leave the free team it created (if there is one).
 
Let me know if this info helps!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...

Re: Personal Folders in Dropbox Business

Level 2

Just to clarify: If I cancel the free trial now, will I still have access to the Personal folder that's now inside it?

Reply
Loading...

Re: Personal Folders in Dropbox Business

Dropboxer
Dropboxer
When you cancel the trial, no files will be lost, so all your content will still be there.
 
If it was moved to the personal folder, then that’s where it would be. If you leave the team after cancelling the trial, your account will return to a Personal account, and the personal folder would simply become the Dropbox folder on your machine.
 
Hope this helps clarify matters!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so please give it a Like below. 
White check mark Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
Arrows Counter Clock Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Reply
Loading...
Business Admins Support

Have a question? Our Dropbox Community is here to help!

Post your question or search for an answer below.


Learn more about using the Community by reading our Community Guidelines.


Hi anonymous,

If you need more help you can log a ticket with our Support Team here (expected response time 24 hours), or contact us on Twitter or Facebook.

For more info on available support options, see this article.

If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!

Personal Folders in Dropbox Business
223 Views
3 Replies
2 Likes
Solved! : See solution
Who's talking
Top contributors to this post