When someone leaves your team, there are a lot of practical things that need to be done. Files need to be moved, a user might need to be deleted, and eventually, a new user might need to be added. Here are some tips to help you make sure the right people have access to the right files.
Transferring an account when someone leaves:
If you're the team admin or user management admin of a Dropbox Business team, you can use account transfer when you delete a team member's account from Dropbox Business. Don’t worry, if you’re not sure who to transfer to just yet, or you’re waiting to onboard someone new, you can complete the transfer later on. Keep in mind that you can use account transfer just once for each member.
Deleting a team member:
Deleted team members immediately lose access to their Dropbox Business account, along with all files, folders, and Paper docs. After deleting a team member, admins can choose to reuse that license and invite another person to the team.
What happens when I delete a team member?
When you delete a team member's account, several things happen:
The team member loses access to the account, including all files and Paper docs
Any shared links created on that account are disabled
Dropbox stops syncing files to the team member's computers and mobile devices
The team member receives an email telling them that the team admin deleted their account and that they no longer have access
Saying goodbye to a team member can be sad, but it doesn’t need to be painful from a technical standpoint too. Hopefully, these tips will make it quick and easy to keep your team rolling.
Well, we know it can be hard to keep up good habits, so we made a new working from home cheat sheet, with some good habits, some things to avoid and some tips for making your day a little easier. Check it out here.
Work Smarter with Dropbox
The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.