Announcements
Known issues updated. Learn more

no

Dropbox Business/Paper Feedback

New member | Level 2

I've been using Dropbox for a few years, and I've (for the most part) really liked working with it. I currently run a small business independently producing a comic book, and so far I've been using two personal accounts - one for myself, and one shared across my business.

As I start get into having more production teams for more comics, I decided to finally try Dropbox Business. I spent a few hours with it last night and this morning and... either I don't get it, or it really isn't designed to meet my needs.

1. Lack of Control

I don't need everyone to have private folders, yet there is no way to disable those. I'm fine with being an Admin / Owner and being unable to see inside those, but with the lower Business tier that still has a file size cap, it puts me in an awkward position where I don't necessarily know where large files are coming from and can't actively do anything about them. Why can't I control which accounts get these? Why can't I not have them at all?

2. Privacy?

At the same time, any top-level folders I make that are for specific users / groups are still displayed to everyone with "No Access" labels. Why display those? If I don't want someone to have access, why do they still have to know it exists?

I know the workaround here is to create a folder in my Private Folder (that I don't want) and to share it so it appears in other Private Folders (again, that I don't want). But this is contingent on the other person accepting the folder (which is not ideal for new employees), and creates an inflated depth. Company-wide stuff is at the top-level, but team stuff is in my personal/private folder. That's super weird.