cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Share your feedback on the Document Scanning Experience in the Dropbox App right here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Search_v2 API Changes

Search_v2 API Changes

andrewnicols
Helpful | Level 5
Go to solution

Hi folks,

I just wanted to give some feedback regarding the new search_v2 API, which came as a bit of surprise to me.

Firstly it seems that the creation of this new API was not announced, at least not anywhere that I can find. I'm a registered Dropbox developer, but I don't seem to have received any notification. I did not receive any e-mail as a registered developer, it is not in the blog, and there's no mention in a quick search of these forums (not that I was a member before now). The application I developer provides Dropbox as a side-feature and I do not actively use it myself so I have not been notified as a developer of the app because I have not called the old API recently.

Secondly I question why these changes have not been implemented as a v3 API, rather than creating a breaking change to the existing API. Versioned APIs should be stable within the version.

Thirdly I question the naming of the new API - `files/search_v2` and `files/search/continue_v2` - a break from the existing naming scheme of simply appending `/continue` to receive additional pages of results. This means that the API is no longer consistent within itself (it previously was). You have to know which endpoint is a v2 endpoint, and to treat it differently.