cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Tell us what you want to see on the Community here!
Close

Dropbox accounts & billing

Make your Dropbox account work for you, with the help of Community users like you. Join in or start a discussion of your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A blatantly immoral way of dividing product tiers | Dropbox Plus vs Professional

Highlighted

A blatantly immoral way of dividing product tiers | Dropbox Plus vs Professional

New member | Level 2

I'm extremely baffled by the fact that a feature like Smart Sync is not part of the Plus-tier of Dropbox accounts, but what's even worse, existing features like password protected folders/share links have been removed from Plus since the elusive Professional tier was launched.

As a seasoned service designer I can confidently state that it's a rookie mistake (and/or immoral) to separate paid tiers based on features that clearly cripple the lower tier's usability (Smart Sync), instead of separating them based on added value (progression). But what's really poor practice and genuinely immoral is removing existing features from existing paid plans (password protected folders/share links). I have been a paid customer for quite some time and I feel cheated.

How can Dropbox be useful as additional storage to people if they can't comfortably manage their storage? Selective Sync is not an alternative guys... Smart Sync is clearly the only logical way (from a product design standpoint) to approach cloud based file management.

The Professional tier doesn't have any reason to exist, not in name (it's confusing because nobody will be able to unequivocally tell you which one is superior if you simply told them to answer based on name only) and in logical feature progression. In other words, most users will intuitively identify this as a money grab instead of a great way to gain real value.