cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Tell us what you want to see on the Community here!
Close

Dropbox accounts & billing

Make your Dropbox account work for you, with the help of Community users like you. Join in or start a discussion of your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Employee Leaving - How to delete user without losing their files

Highlighted

Employee Leaving - How to delete user without losing their files

Explorer | Level 3

We have an employee leaving the company. If we delete their account we are worried we will lose the files they put into our company Dropbox. Will we lose their files? Is there a way of deleting them or removing their access without losing any files they added and/or edited?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Employee Leaving - How to delete user without losing their files

Dropboxer

Hey @BP89, I hope you're well today!

When you delete a member from your team, you'll have the option to transfer their files to another member's account. The steps to do this are outlined here.

If the account you transfer the files to is already a member of any shared files/folders, no duplicates will be made and ownership will also be transferred.

Any other data will be moved into a folder named "XYZ's files".

I hope this helps, let me know if you have any other questions!


Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

1 Reply 1
Highlighted

Re: Employee Leaving - How to delete user without losing their files

Dropboxer

Hey @BP89, I hope you're well today!

When you delete a member from your team, you'll have the option to transfer their files to another member's account. The steps to do this are outlined here.

If the account you transfer the files to is already a member of any shared files/folders, no duplicates will be made and ownership will also be transferred.

Any other data will be moved into a folder named "XYZ's files".

I hope this helps, let me know if you have any other questions!


Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?