cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Tell us what you want to see on the Community here!
Close

Dropbox accounts & billing

Make your Dropbox account work for you, with the help of Community users like you. Join in or start a discussion of your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I cancelled Business account. How do I revert my file structure?

Highlighted

I cancelled Business account. How do I revert my file structure?

Explorer | Level 4

I had a paid version of dropbox, but then upgraded to a Business account because I needed to share folders with my team and clients. 

My original dropbox content was put into a 'sub folder' of my business file tree (it created a private folder with my name on it and all my original folders became subfolders of that)...

Then at the top level I created all the shared folders.

However, most of my clients struggled with it and we've gone back to a different solution (Google drive).

Now that I have cancelled my business account, I want my file structure to go back to how it was before. I want my private folder to be at the 'top of the tree', instead of one level down.

At the moment, It still shows a business dropbox at the top, which of course doesn't have much space, so it is full and won't sync.

My personal paid dropbox had plenty of space so I want to go back to that and work as I was before.

Does this make sense? How do I do it?

1 Reply 1
Highlighted

Re: I cancelled Business account. How do I revert my file structure?

Dropboxer

Hello @Cat_M - how are you today?

It sounds like you never left the -now free- team upon downgrading your Dropbox for Business Teams account. Can you try leaving it by going here?

To leave the team, click the 'Leave team' button at the top right hand side of the page as this will return your account to a personal account.

Please note that when you leave a team, you will no longer have access to any files in your team folder. If you would like to retain access to files within the folder, you can make a copy before leaving the team. 

In addition, note that as you've upgraded your account and downgraded, your account should be on the free, Basic plan now as a pro-rated refund for your previous subscription must have been applied upon upgrading to the Business plan. This means that you'll need to re-upgrade your account to your previous subscription, be it on the Plus or the Professional plan. 

I hope this helps and please keep me posted on your progress on this Cat!



Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?