cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If I delete shared folders, will they be deleted for others as well?

jenintheuk New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

hi, 
I'm out of storage space!
I have lots of large files that clients have shared with me in the past. I no longer need those files, but if I delete them from the shared folder, does that mean the client has lost that file also? I run a very small business so don't want to have an overhead for file sharing by upgrading. Can anyone advise me? thanks!

1 Reply 1

Re: freeing up space

Super User II
Super User II

jenintheuk wrote:

I no longer need those files, but if I delete them from the shared folder, does that mean the client has lost that file also?


Yes. If they're in a shared folder then anything you do to the files in the folder will replicate to all other members of the share as well. If you no longer need the files, you can leave the share.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?