cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Multiple entities / multiple DropBoxes?

New member | Level 1
New member | Level 1

Hello! I'm new to DropBox! I just downloaded the desktop app this evening!

I have a computer (MacOS and a smartphone (Android) and a tablet (iPad).

I just created a (basic) DropBox account. I plan on getting lots of good use out of it. But I have some challenging questions:

1: In addition to my DropBox account, I am also considering opening another (basic) DropBox. The reason? I am also a volunteer for a small, local civic organization. This organization needs a cloud-based file storage solution. The organization has its own e-mail address, separate from mine. I'm wondering how it's possible to have two DropBoxes installed and available on my local machine. I would also like to make the organization's (proposed) DropBox accessible on other people's computers and mobile devices. Can this be done, and, if so, how?

2: Is it possible to make a specific folder (or folders) designated as "public" so that non-members can visit said folder(s) and download files nested there if necessary?

3: Is there an easy way to make a file or folder on DropBox accessible to the public on the internet through a short/tiny URL?

Thanks in advance!

--WA

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Multiple entities / multiple DropBoxes?

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hi WA, Guy,

Yes, you can setup a team on your account and have a 'work' and 'personal' account on your computer. More information on that in detail here: https://www.dropbox.com/en/help/9124

Ed G
Community Manager @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 
 Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
 Still stuck? Ask me a question! (