cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Tell us what you want to see on the Community here!
Close

Dropbox accounts & billing

Make your Dropbox account work for you, with the help of Community users like you. Join in or start a discussion of your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remove work account option from desktop app

Highlighted

Remove work account option from desktop app

Explorer | Level 4

Hi, I recently changed jobs. I'd like to remove the option to link my work account in the desktop app in the 'Account' and 'Sync' preferences. I'll still have access to my work account for a while, but I don't want to see it in my desktop app as an option anymore. Any way to do this?

7 Replies 7
Highlighted

Re: Remove work account option from desktop app

Dropboxer
Hey there @aaronjray
 
Currently, you can’t deactivate the option to connect a work (Business) account to a personal (Basic/Plus/Professional) one. 
 
If you’d like to disconnect one of your two accounts from a device, just follow the same steps you took to connect them
 
If you’d like to unlink them completely from being paired:
  1. Sign in to the website
  2. Click your avatar in the top-right corner.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Under Connected Dropbox accounts, click Disconnect.
Please bear in mind that when you disconnect paired accounts, the account that was linked to your devices second will be unlinked from those devices.
 
I hope this helps!

Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Re: Remove work account option from desktop app

Explorer | Level 4

If I just don't want to see the business name in the options, in the case of my screenshot  below it says "Legwork" - will disconnecting it from my device just change that to say "connect a business account" or something along those lines? I've already disconnected it, but it's still showing the name of the company there. 

And when you say "paired" accounts, why would my personal account be paired to my work account, shouldn't they still be separate essentially? 

 

Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 9.46.00 PM.png

Highlighted

Re: Remove work account option from desktop app

Dropboxer
Thanks for the screenshot, @aaronjray!
 
From what I understand, you’ve disconnected the account in question from your desktop app, but is it still connected on the website?
 
Could you please confirm if the Dropbox accounts are still connected there by navigating to your General tab from the website’s settings?
 
Finally, do not worry, your accounts are separate. When two accounts are referred to being paired or connected, it’s got more to do with the capability of you having a personal (Basic/Plus/Professional) connected with a work (Business) account, just as you have. 
 
Let me know how it goes!

Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Re: Remove work account option from desktop app

Explorer | Level 4

Hi @Lusil,

In my personal settings on the Dropbox website, I see a tab that says "You've connected your personal and work Dropbox accounts.", and then a disconnect button.

But did I also read somewhere that if I disconnect the two accounts, it will remove both of them from the desktop app? I don't want to have to re-sync all my files again.

Thanks!

Highlighted

Re: Remove work account option from desktop app

Dropboxer
When you disconnect two accounts from each other, the account that was linked to your devices second will be unlinked, not both. 
 
I hope this helps clarify matters a bit more! In the meantime, let me know if you have any other questions, @aaronjray

Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Re: Remove work account option from desktop app

Explorer | Level 4

Hi @Lusil Ok, so that means it will disconnect my new Personal account. So if that happens, then would I need to delete and reinstall the desktop app to only show my personal account in the preferences (ie; the point of this inquiry), and it wouldn't show the actual business name connect option? 

Thanks, Aaron

Highlighted

Re: Remove work account option from desktop app

Dropboxer
Apologies for the misunderstanding, @aaronjray. Allow me to clarify:
 
If you’ve already unlinked the Business account from your computer, then the account syncing on your device is the personal one. 
 
Whether you disconnect the two accounts from the website at this point, it won’t make a difference as the work account is no longer connected to that computer.  
 
By unlinking your personal and work accounts from the website, you will be unlinking the second account that you connected on any other device that still has both syncing.
 
I hope this doesn’t confuse you, but please let me know if you’d like me to clarify a bit more. 
 
 
[This thread is now closed by moderators due to inactivity. If you're experiencing a similar behavior or have a question, feel free to Ask for help from the Community here.]

Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?