Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Using Dropbox as your only file system

New member | Level 1
New member | Level 1

Does anybody do this?

I'm asking because I have an rMacBook Pro and an iPad Pro. I've been using Dropbox since 2008 across multiple computers and OS. I've never had an issue.

I don't have many files: no music and all photos are going through Apple Photos and iCloud in any case. While Apple Notes is increasingly my main database and that's also automatically taken care of via iCloud.

Takes Photos out the equation, and all my files total about 15 GB -- I work mainly with text.

I realise Dropbox is not *backup* even though a lot of us use it as such.

By way of extra piece of mind I do the following:

I have a folder for version control of my only really important folder on the actual computer in Documents rather than Dropbox, such that it's not syncing, and such that I couldn't inadvertently sync a mistake and not realise.

I have Time Machine too, which is also backing up the Dropbox folder

And I'm probably going to pay for Dropbox's Extended Version Control

So I meet the criteria of: 1. Folder on computer 2. Folder remote. 3. Folder on external drive. 4. Version control.

Anyone do this successfully or similar?

Any potential problems anyone can see?

5 Replies 5
Highlighted

Re: Using Dropbox as your only file system

Experienced Collaborator | Level 11

Dropbox isn't a network drive and has no facility to enable its use as one.

This is unlikely to change.

Highlighted

New member | Level 1
New member | Level 1

Thanks for the reply.

But that doesn't really bother me so much. I don't need a network drive.

It's more a case of simply keeping everything in Dropbox (with the backup solutions I mentioned in the original post).

Highlighted

Super User II
Super User II

It's more a case of simply keeping everything in Dropbox