cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn more about how Connie, a member of the Community, uses Dropbox here!

Dropbox accounts & billing

Make your Dropbox account work for you, with the help of Community users like you. Join in or start a discussion of your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What happens to existing files after the 30 days trial ends?

What happens to existing files after the 30 days trial ends?

Thrall
Explorer | Level 3

I know dropbox stops syncing after the 30 days trial ends, but what happens to the files I've uploaded during the trial? Can I still access them? And how long would they stay? (Sorry for my bad English)

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: What happens to existing files after the 30 days trial ends?

Jay
Dropboxer
Hi @Thrall, thanks for joining the Community!

When you downgrade after a trial, all that will happen to your account is the files will stop syncing, if you're overquota when you downgrade.

You'll still be able to access your account, however, any new additions or edits won't sync to the account. The files will remain indefinitely on the account, as Dropbox doesn't delete any files without user input. I would recommend that you login to your account at least once within 12 months to keep the entire account active.

You can delete files from your account to get underquota again, which will allow it to sync once more.

If you need any more details, feel free to message back!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

1 Reply 1

Re: What happens to existing files after the 30 days trial ends?

Jay
Dropboxer
Hi @Thrall, thanks for joining the Community!

When you downgrade after a trial, all that will happen to your account is the files will stop syncing, if you're overquota when you downgrade.

You'll still be able to access your account, however, any new additions or edits won't sync to the account. The files will remain indefinitely on the account, as Dropbox doesn't delete any files without user input. I would recommend that you login to your account at least once within 12 months to keep the entire account active.

You can delete files from your account to get underquota again, which will allow it to sync once more.

If you need any more details, feel free to message back!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Still stuck? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

View solution in original post

Poll
Which Dropbox integrations are you using while working from home?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?