cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Tell us what you want to see on the Community here!
Close

Dropbox accounts & billing

Make your Dropbox account work for you, with the help of Community users like you. Join in or start a discussion of your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What will happen to my personal account after I finish working with the Business team?

Highlighted

What will happen to my personal account after I finish working with the Business team?

New member | Level 2

Hi,

 

I've just received the following email after being added as a team member to a client's Dropbox business account:

 

"

Hi Andy,

Thank you for joining "Client's Dropbox Name " on Dropbox Business!

Your previous Dropbox Plus subscription has been cancelled and we've issued £87.74 to your original payment method for the remaining value of your subscription. If you've got any questions, please contact us.

Welcome to the team!
- Dropbox"

 

My question is; what happens to my personal account after I've finished working for this client? Would my account be restored, or will I lose access to my own files when I'm removed as a team member from their business account?

 

Many thanks,

 

Andy

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Personal account refund after being added to a business team account

Super User II

@Davers1 wrote:

My question is; what happens to my personal account after I've finished working for this client? Would my account be restored, or will I lose access to my own files when I'm removed as a team member from their business account?


Technically, since you've joined a team, YOU no longer have an account. It now belongs to the business. When your time with the team is complete, if they remove you from the team your account would be deleted, along with all content. Instead, you want to make sure they convert your account back to a personal account.

 

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3
Highlighted

Re: Personal account refund after being added to a business team account

Super User II

@Davers1 wrote:

My question is; what happens to my personal account after I've finished working for this client? Would my account be restored, or will I lose access to my own files when I'm removed as a team member from their business account?


Technically, since you've joined a team, YOU no longer have an account. It now belongs to the business. When your time with the team is complete, if they remove you from the team your account would be deleted, along with all content. Instead, you want to make sure they convert your account back to a personal account.

 

View solution in original post

Highlighted

Re: Personal account refund after being added to a business team account

New member | Level 2

Hi Rich,

 

Thanks for the information. I've contacted the Team admin. He's followed the instructions you linked to and I now have my Dropbox files back!

 

Thanks for your help & all the best,

 

Andy

Highlighted

Re: Personal account refund after being added to a business team account

Dropboxer

Hi @Davers1, I'm happy to hear that @Rich was able to assist you on this matter.

 

I you require any additional assistance, feel free to let us know!


Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?