cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Tell us what you want to see on the Community here!
Close

Dropbox accounts & billing

Make your Dropbox account work for you, with the help of Community users like you. Join in or start a discussion of your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Phantom" files remain after unsyncing folders

Highlighted

"Phantom" files remain after unsyncing folders

New member | Level 2

My Dropbox files were taking up too much space on my hard drive, so I unsynced most of my folders using Selective Sync (I'm a Dropbox Pro user), but instead of my space decreasing, it shows that the space is occupied by system files. I deleted the unsynced folder, the Dropbox application and all associated Dropbox folders, emptied the trash, rebooted a few times and I am still low on hard drive space. I'm using a MacBook Pro 2015 model with High Sierra OS.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: "Phantom" files remain after unsyncing folders

New member | Level 2
Thanks for the tips. It turns out that I had a problem with my computer. I had to wipe it clean to use it until I got a replacement. It works fine now, and now I have a better understanding of how the sync works. I'm very selective about what folders I choose to sync now.

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3
Highlighted

Dropboxer
Hey there (@lwill74), sorry to hear that you haven’t been able to regain the space you needed locally, let’s take it from where you’ve left off on your end! 

It’s my understanding that you’ve already tried following the steps outlined on this resource, am I on the right track? If so, can you also try uninstalling the Dropbox contextual menu & your Dropbox application settings (i.e. if you haven't done so already)