cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

"Too many log in attempts. Try again in a few minutes."

New member | Level 1
New member | Level 1

I am a classroom teacher. I have a class dropbox that my students log into to retrieve documents, turn in assignments, etc. This has worked great FOR YEARS. Until today. Now when my students try to log on from any device (mostly iPads), Dropbox says, "Too many log in attempts. Try again in a few minutes." This is NOT due to putting in the wrong password. Also, it says you can link unlimited devices. At first, if they had the app it worked fine, and it only did this when they were using a web browsers. Now it won't even let them in from the app. I have been to the security tab and ended all sessions, thinking that would help. It did not. Does anyone have any ideas? Dropbox keeps me from LIVING in the copy room or hunting for student work in my email. MANY teachers here use it. PLEASE HELP.

26 Replies 26
Highlighted

Re: "Too many log in attempts. Try again in a few minutes."

Super User II
Super User II

I'm not sure if you are going to be able to work around this.

Dropbox have always allowed unlimited devices etc. to access Dropbox - but for one user. Dropbox has never ever been intended that multiple users have 1 log on and they frequently explicitly state not to do so. For example, if all your students have access to the account (i.e. email/password) they are all technically 'owners'. That means they can legitimately go in to that account and delete files, permanently delete files, even change the email or account password and you could do NOTHING about it - after all, they have full rights to do so and you've given them those rights.