cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Whether you are transferring a single drive, a team or an entire organization, Movebot's cloud migration tool has been built to make your Dropbox migration simple - learn all about it here.

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

All dropbox files getting marked read-only

All dropbox files getting marked read-only

julran55
New member | Level 2

I've been using dropbox for a few years now without issue. I have it on my pc, ipad & android phone. My primary device is my ipad.  Here lately I've been having problems when I go to edit files, I am forced to save a copy because it can't save changes... except, once the copy is saved I can't save changes to it, I have to make another copy.  If I look at properties on my pc the files are marked read-only.  I removed that mark and applied changes but then thought I should check others... all files were read-only in that folder, so checked further... the properties for my entire dropbox were read-only!  So, yesterday removed the read-only setting and hit applied it to all the folders & files in my dropbox which seemed to fix the problem yesterday but this morning again the read-only is checked again on my entire dropbox folder...  Please help!  It takes awhile to apply the change to the 500g of files I have.

17 Replies 17

Re: All dropbox files getting marked read-only

Karina
Dropboxer
Hey there @julran55, sorry about the slight delay in response and welcome to our Forum! 😊

This is interesting - Could you by any chance check other files on your computer (not currently in your Dropbox), and see if their properties have also being changed to Read-Only” without your doing?