cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Delete, edit, and organize

Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account with support from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Automatically upload folders without syncing a local copy

Automatically upload folders without syncing a local copy

oshri3
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

Hi 

i am a photographer and i have a lot of images that i am tkaing every day

and i would like an automation backup that will upload all my files to dropbox without sync it to my local computer and than i would like to be able to delete them 

the reson is becuase i would like to keep my storage clean 

so i can backup it to dropbox and than delete them 

is it possible?

the problem is that dropbox app sync all my dropbox folder to my local computer 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution

Remember that Dropbox is not a backup service. It's a file synchronization service meant to keep a copy of the files on your computer in-sync with a copy online and on other devices. It is not a proper backup service and shouldn't be used as one. There are far better services out there if backup is your only purpose.

Also, Selective Sync is a feature that is available to all account levels, even the free Basic accounts. Smart Sync is the feature that is available to Professional and Business accounts.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Mark
Super User II
Go to solution
I'm afraid not - certainly not automatically anyway.

Dropbox isnt a backup tool and so it lacks the functionality that would come with a backup program.

:penguin::penguin: - :penguin: - :penguin: - :penguin: