cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our users can answer all of your questions on files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Business trial and synching issues

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

I did the Business trial but do not want to buy. The trial has expired and my folders did not revert back to normal. I noticed when scrolling down through the cancel screen it says that if I click cancel, all members will be disbanded and folders deleted. I do not want to cancel Dropbox completely, I just don't want the business upgrade. Also, since we did the business trial, whenever we open a spreadsheet in Excel it creates another tab and it will not update until we close both windows, logout and log back in. Lastly, now every time I open a file it automatically opens in Excel (creating a second tab). We had zero issues prior to the business trial, we are getting frustrated and getting ready to migrate the team to Google Drive. Please help.

1 Reply 1
Highlighted

Re: Business trial and synching issues

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hey there @MikeAFCanton - sorry to hear you're having troubles with this.

Based on your description,it seems like your team is currently in "locked state", which limits Dropbox functionality.  This will cause the following:

  • Paused file syncing on connected computers
  • You will not be able to create or upload new files or folders
  • Most premium features, such as file requests and invite enforcement, will be disabled
  • Most admin console functionality will be disabled.

You can learn more about the locked state in our Help Center:

https://www.dropbox.com/help/business/locked-state

Team admins have two options available at this point, either purchase Dropbox Business or disband the team and convert all team members to individual accounts.

While the admin is deciding, team members can leave the team if they’d like. 

All of these actions can be taken from this page: www.dropbox.com/team/decide

We usually recommend team admins take action as soon as possible can to preserve the integrity of the original team. 

Let me know if you notice the same issues once you're done with disbanding the team and reverting your account back to an individual one. 

Thanks!



Walter
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Polls
Do you know how to organize your files and folders?
We have created a guide on folder best practice, so you can get organized now check it out here.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?