cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Check out the Dropbox cheat sheet for getting started in 2021 here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I sync folders outside the Dropbox Folder?

Can I sync folders outside the Dropbox Folder?

Explorer | Level 3

Hi ,  i am new to Drop box and was wondering if i have to move every folder that i need to syncronize to the drop box folder , or is there a way to keep the folders in their locations and select them in a way to keep synchronized with drop box ... because to move the folders from its original locations is not practical and annoying the set up of my pc ..

please help

Shadi

30 Replies 30

Re: syncing folders

Super User II
Yes. You need to move them if you want supported Dropbox.

Dropbox does not work to files and folders in other locations.

There are some third party hacks at www.dropboxwiki.com BUT these are unsupported and so if you have any issues with Dropbox and need support you will be required to change these first

- - -

Heart Did this post help you? If so please mark it for some Kudos below. 

Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.

Did this post not resolve your issue? If so please give us some more information so we can try and help - please remember we cannot see over your shoulder so be as descriptive as possible! 

Super User II

Shadi wrote:

was wondering if i have to move every folder that i need to syncronize to the drop box folder

Yes. Dropbox will only sync the items that are located inside teh Dropbox folder. You move your files or folders to Dropbox and use that as your working directory.