cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
We want to make our Community work for you and we need your help. Take our short survey!
Close

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Can no longer overwrite synching files

Highlighted

Can no longer overwrite synching files

Helpful | Level 5

I've been using dropbox for a few years now, at work, and at home (with a seperate pro account). 

I've noticed lately that on both accounts, i can no longer overwrite files that are currently synching. Unsure if it's directly related but it seems to have started a few months ago when dropbox performed it's 'one time update' (for the whole day i should add). 

I do 3D work, and am constantly saving and resaving large files that take at least a few minutes to synch, sometimes whole folders that are many gbs (autosaves for Gaming Engines like Ue4 for example) are being synched. Now every time I try to save over a file that is currently synching, i will get an error, or sometimes worse, I don't get an error, but the file is either corrupt or it's the old file when I open up the file later. 

Did something change to the policy or is this somehow something that's changed in my preferences on all 3 of my workstations simultaneously? 

Thanks for any information you can provide in advance. 

6 Replies 6
Highlighted

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hey @slowgojoe, thanks for checking in with us! 

From what I understand, you're getting an error message when you try to save changes to a file that's trying to sync the first set of edits that you've made, is that right?

Out of curiosity, are you getting the same experience when the file has completed syncing? 

Keep me posted!

Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox