If i share a folder, will a 'viewer only' see the revisions i make after i shared a folder?
Solved! Go to Solution.
Hi @JMMSM, thanks for messaging the Community!
Since the user wasn't a part of the shared folder, they wouldn't have the ability to see any version history prior to the folder being shared.
However, anyone who had access to the original file from before (i.e. yourself, or anyone else if it was in a team folder), would be able to see the history.
Hope this helps to clarify matters!
thank you for your response and i understand but i am speaking about something different. If i share a folder will a 'viewer only' see the revisions i make after i shared a folder? To further explain...
1. I created a drop box folder with content inside the folder.
2. I shared this folder with clients.
3. AFTER i shared this folder with clients, i have made revisions.
4. With these most recent revisions, will the clients already in the shared list of this Dropbox folder have there files updated to match.
5. Do they receive a Dropbox notice saying 'there have been updates'? Or do i need to email my clients outside Dropbox and say, 'please check Dropbox for the most recent revisions'?
thank you, jay and sorry for the confusion! I look forward to your expert assistance!!!
They should get a notification in their OS (if they've enabled it) to tell them a file was updated.
yes, this helped clarify!! My last question.
if everyone who shared my folder is either in 'can edit' mode or 'can view' mode, their folders will still be updated? Once you respond, i can accept the resolution!!!
Shared folders will always sync changes from the site to everyone's accounts, regardless if the person is in edit or view only mode, similar to how Dropbox syncs files from one machine to another.
The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.Sound good? Let's get started.
For more info on available support options, see this article.
If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!