cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change the File request notification about sharing files

JoaquinRus19 New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

How can I disable or change the following notification shown to users when they are redirederected to my file request URL?:
"Only --Username-- will see these files unless they choose to share them"

I'd like to edit it so people can have a deeper understading of who I will be sharing their documents with.

3 Replies 3

Re: Change the File request notification about sharing files

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hi @JoaquinRus19

Thanks for joining our Community and creating your first thread. 

While there is currently no way for this notification phrasing to not be changed, you can add a note explaining you are going to share the files, under the "What are you requesting?" file request step. 

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. 


Fiona
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below. 
 Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
 Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Re: Change the File request notification about sharing files

JoaquinRus19 New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

Thanks for your assistance! How can I add that that note? The file request folder was already created. Is there a way to add it now?

Re: Change the File request notification about sharing files

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

No. There is no way to add a Note to the existing file request. 

What if you delete it and resend it with your note?

Alternatively you could email the receivers and clarify that the files are going to be shared after received. 

What the file request message explains is that the files someone uploads there are only being transferred to the the account that requested them. However, what will happen to these files next, is up to the receiver.

Since the files are in your account, you are the owner of these files in Dropbox and you can share them, delete them, edit them etc.  


Fiona
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below. 
 Did this post fix your issue/answer your question? If so please press the 'Accept as Solution' button to help others find it.
 Still stuck? Ask me a question! (
Questions asked in the community will likely receive an answer within 4 hours!)

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?