cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our users can answer all of your questions on files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Explorer | Level 3

Hello there,

 

as there seems to be no way to contact support directly, I have to ask here:

Since some days/ weeks, when I change a file on one computer, another computer (same dropbox account) announces that I deleted the file, and shortly after that I added the file. What is not really reflecting the reality. I certainly didn't get these messages some weeks ago.

(having two computers running is a corona home office thing)

 

It's not a technical problem, but still annoying. Does anybody else know that, and if there is any setting to get rid of it?

Thanks in advance for any help!

10 Replies 10
Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hello @visir, thanks for reaching out to us on the Dropbox Community. 

 

In general, when you move a file, that's read as a deletion from one location and an addition to another. 

 

However, it can also happen when you're editing a file, which highly depends on the third party app that you're using, the size of the file, the way that you save it, and so on. 

 

I hope this helps to some extent, but let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks!


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Explorer | Level 3

Hello Lusil,

 

thanks for the answer. In fact it is a pure text file, and I just edit it with a text editor, like I do for years, right this file. And this messages are new - what has changed recently?

 

...just edited it on the other computer where the messages appear (Win10) - the first computer (linux) synchronizes without these messages. Is it maybe that dropbox app on Windoze that's so talkative?

Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Thanks for getting back to me, @visir

 

Just to confirm, does it change locations or paths when you save any edit you make in that text file?


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Explorer | Level 3

no, I just edit the existing file without moving it anywhere

Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Thanks for confirming that for me. 

 

It sounds like the app that you're using and the Operating System itself is saving it by deleting the original and adding the new version. As such, the desktop app reads it as a deletion and an addition. 

 

This may be resolved by pausing the desktop app from syncing, and resuming once you're done saving any changes and closing the third party app. 


Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Explorer | Level 3

That would be a possibility that the app deletes and creates, but why do I get those notifications only recently?

Stopping the syncing would be a workaround... not comfortable though. This file is a permanent working file which I change every now and then, so I would have to stop the syncing on the one computer for the whole day in home office and remember to start it again when I am in office...

 

Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hi @visir, it’s possible there was a recent update to the app that saves the file, or OS update, which has changed how it saves files.

 

Another method to save the file in the same area would be to first save the file in a different location, and then drag it to the correct folder, which will overwrite it there.


Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Explorer | Level 3

Hi @Jay , a lot is possible... but it's a stupid text editor, what updates would you expect...

Saving the file in a different place and overwriting the original file should be much more "deleting and creating" than just changing the existing file.

 

Highlighted

Re: Changed file is "deleted" and "added"

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

I understand what you're referring to. However, since this isn't an issue with the Dropbox desktop application directly, as the file is being deleted and then added again by the app or OS, there isn't much else I can suggest as a workaround.


Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Polls
Do you know how to organize your files and folders?
We have created a guide on folder best practice, so you can get organized now check it out here.

Work Smarter with Dropbox

The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.

Sound good? Let's get started.
Need more support?