cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Check out the Dropbox cheat sheet for getting started in 2021 here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drag & Drop on mac

Drag & Drop on mac

Explorer | Level 4

Hello. Someone is sending me some photos via Email from Dropbox. I have no experience using this App. I have an iMac. Since I do not have Dropbox installed, do I just drag and drop from their email onto my desktop? Or how will this work?

6 Replies 6

Re: Drag & Drop on mac

Dropboxer

Hi @SM20, thanks for messaging today!

It shouldn't be possible to drag and drop from the email, as the files would be located on the Dropbox site.

Do you know how the files have been sent to you? Are you able to see them on the Dropbox site? Could you forward a screenshot of the email you received, without any personal details on it?

Keep me posted!

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Explorer | Level 4

71ECCA3E-18C6-4D6A-B7CB-83488140B210.jpgCAB1AAC9-87EF-40ED-9F62-DA1C31761F74.jpeg

Explorer | Level 4

I uploaded the two emails I received as you can see. As I didn't have dropbox on my device, he sent a second mail with just the link. But if I click on that the page is empty. 

So I need Dropbox on either my iPad or my computer, right, in order to see the photos he sent? And if I do download the app or whatever, then where do the photos go to when I click on the link. Will they automatically be added to my iPhotos or stay separate in Dropbox?

Dropboxer