cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our users can answer all of your questions on files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Dropbox App No Longer Streams Uncompressed Audio

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

Hello, I'm an audio engineer and music producer and I work out of Dropbox. I typically will listen to exported tracks on my phone using the Dropbox app, as well as sending different versions to clients. A while ago streaming quality in the desktop browser took a nosedive, but this wasn't the end of the world to me as I mainly use the app. Now it appears the mobile app is affected as well. I've already submitted a ticket, but I'm also looking for any possible solutions from the community. A simple option to maintain audio quality/stream uncompressed audio (the way it was previously) would be ideal... I have been using Dropbox for many years for this purpose and now I'm going to have to change my workflow and use another cloud storage service that will let me stream uncompressed audio as Dropbox has in the past - if anyone else is using Dropbox in a similar way I would love to hear suggestions.

2 Replies 2
Highlighted

Re: Dropbox App No Longer Streams Uncompressed Audio

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hello @jamiethemorris - happy Monday!

At first, could you clarify the steps you take that result in this? Does it happen for all of your files or some? What type of files are these? 

Have you by any chance tried to offline the mentioned files (or export them to another app)? Does the issue persist when you do?

Remember the Dropbox app is a file viewer that allows you to preview the files, photos, and videos in your Dropbox folder directly on your mobile device.