cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Delete, edit, and organize

Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account with support from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropbox Deleted My Files

Dropbox Deleted My Files

weinmann3
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

One of my Main DropBox Folders was automatically delted today. I know what Dropbox is going to say, must have been me cause it wasn't them. I, for a fact, know that it wasn't me. I hold a degree in computer science and there is no way that i would have deleted that folder by accident. It contained thousands of files that I need back immediately. When i went to the Deleted Files section on the browser version of DropBox and tried to restore the folder, all it gave me was an error message saying "Files can not be restored." Thats it, no further explanation. Then the deleted folder dissapeared from the Deleted Files section and is no longer showing up in Deleted Files. I had to go to "Events" to even see a record of the folder being deleted. Now I have given the event link to DropBox and they said they will give it to the restoration department but that was 4 hours ago and still nothing. Anyone else have huge folders suddenly being deleted and they know they didn't do it? I remember back in 2014 there was a bug due to selective sync that was causing things like this to happen, maybe they have another bug

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Walter
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hey there @weinmann3 - sorry to hear that!

I can see you're in direct communication with an agent of our support team and that they have already escalated your request to our restorations department.