Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Dropbox keeps asking me to delete a file I would NEVER want to delete. How do I make it stop?

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

I've been using Dropbox for many years but a few months ago it started asking me at least weekly to delete a Quickbooks file that I would never want to delete. I'm not accidentally hitting delete. It even happens when the file is open. This deletion prompt is disturbing. There's a box I can check so I don't see that question any more but I'm afraid if I check it, Dropbox will remove this essential file without asking me. How do I make thi message stop?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Dropbox keeps asking me to delete a file I would NEVER want to delete. How do I make it stop?

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hi there @Elizabeth M.16

Thanks for joining the Dropbox Community! 

Quickbooks is not recommended to sync with Dropbox, mainly because it is a live library of files and can cause syncing issues. The Quickbooks files are updated live by the Quickbooks app and Dropbox sees this as a deletion and addition of the files you are editing. 

When the desktop app realises that a file will be deleted, it gives you this error to notify you that the file will also be deleted from the cloud and any other devices. 

Best option would be to not sync live library files, they are backed up by Quickbooks in any case. 

Here are a few more discussions we had in the Community about Quickbooks: 

Dropbox keeps duplicating our Quickbooks files, how we do we stop this?

Quickbooks Pro Desktop and DropBox

QuickBooks

I'd be glad to answer any questions you might have. 

Thank you! 

Fiona
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.