cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know all about tools for creatives that work seamlessly with Dropbox, like Adobe? Well, check it out right here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropbox on laptop didn't sync to cloud/web?

Dropbox on laptop didn't sync to cloud/web?

MHo
New member | Level 2

I have been using dropbox for 10 years.  I have been saving to a dropbox folder on my laptop finder/desktop for several years now, and just used it a few weeks ago.  I just tried to use it & the dropbox is no longer on my laptop finder, and when I look at the dropbox webpage, it seems that all my files from the last 4-5 years have not been syncing on the web/cloud.  My questions:

1) is it possible that I have been saving onto my laptop but it has not been syncing with my actual dropbox on the web/cloud?

2) How can the files on my laptop be deleted?

3) dropbox has been prompting me to upgrade and increase my storage for the last couple months -- could this be part of the problem?

4) Are dropbox files encrypted and secure?

5) I have a mac icloud account -- might there be a backup there?

Should I switch to using a different cloud based storage than dropbox? this has been very frustrating.

thank you for any tips!

1 Reply 1

Re: Dropbox on laptop didn't sync to cloud/web?

Lori
Dropboxer
Hey @MHo, let's see what we can find on this together!

As a first step, I would like for you to locate your Dropbox icon (on the menu bar, next to your WiFi), hover your mouse there and let me know the status of the app.

As for your questions: