cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our users can answer all of your questions on files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Dropbox stuck downloading files

New member | Level 2
New member | Level 2

I am experiencing an issue where Dropbox keeps telling me it is downloading 8,831 files (8,835 if you expand the tray icon). Based on this article, it seems that symlinks could be to blame. However, I have been using them since at least 2016 without issue. The last thing that I can confirm uploaded from the symlink folders was on 9/22/19. Anything added to those folders since then is not uploading.

Of course I know the first suggestion will be "don't use symlinks". However, I am using these links for folders which cannot be moved, namely iTunes (not the media files but the library, preferences, and artwork), Windows Desktop, and the default Windows Documents folder. Since this worked until at least 9/22/19, I'm wondering if a new version was to blame.

Before I found that article I had tried all the standard troubleshooting techniques: Exit Dropbox and restart, unlink and relink, install latest version and relink, clear cache - nothing has worked. I'm hoping there will be some way to fix this, as I have depended on Dropbox for years to back up the files in these locations.

Any suggestions on how I can get this working again with symlinks? I'm running 82.4.155 on Windows 10 (not sure if that is what it was on 9/22 when the last sync occurred).

3 Replies 3
Highlighted

Re: Dropbox stuck downloading files

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hello @Tiger519

Thanks for joining our Community and posting your first thread here!