Yesterday I was organizing one of my Dropbox folders. I was creating new folders, renaming folders, and moving files around (can confirm I was NOT copying, I was moving). Everything had updated names, moved around accordingly.
This morning when I logged into my Dropbox account, everything that I renamed and moved, duplicated out in addition to the new changes I had made.
For example: Folder A was renamed to Folder B and loose files were added into Folder B. Last night there was only Folder B (containing the loose files I had moved into it) in my Dropbox account. This morning there is Folder A, Folder B (with the loose files that were moved into the folder) AND the loose files.
I am nervous if I delete any of the files that have duplicates, that it will also delete that file from everywhere within the folder. These are very large image files, so it wouldn't make sense to download them off of Dropbox and reupload.
Thanks for the insight, Walter! When going to the "Events" tab, it looks like someone was restoring files as I was continuing to make changes within the folder, which caused this issued I had initially mentioned.
Now that some folder have been restored-- this leaves me with the question: IF there was a folder that I had edited or moved, but the very original folder was restored-- if I delete the restored version that I initially made changes to, will that remove or delete the other file in the updated folder? I am nervous if I delete the original folder that I changed, that it will also delete the other folder.
Well, we know it can be hard to keep up good habits, so we made a new working from home cheat sheet, with some good habits, some things to avoid and some tips for making your day a little easier. Check it out here.
Work Smarter with Dropbox
The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.