cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Learn more about how Connie, a member of the Community, uses Dropbox here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP!

Tiedye
Helpful | Level 5

I am really freaking out right now...

I'm fairly new to dropbox and am trying to upload some files. I see some options to Sync (I think the particular files) and it starts syncing my computer (desktop, downloads, documents).  Now this is NOT what I want to happen and there is no button to cancel so in a bit of a panic I quit the app.  When I restart the app there's all this stuff copied to dropbox that I don't want there so I delete it (from dropbox).  Now all these files are GONE from my computer! My desktop is empty but I found some file called "Desktop" and all those files are there. Whew!  Looking for "Downloads"... None. Folder is empty! Okay, well I can live without those files.  Looking for "Documents"... there's a folder called Documents but it's full of unreadable and unopenable files. These files are my life's work on this computer. Crucial.

There's still a folder on the Dropdox app or online called "My Mac" but it's empty. 

I've checked in the Deleted files and there's nothing there either...

I don't know what to do!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: HELP!

Tiedye
Helpful | Level 5

Thanks Chris that's helpful to see!

Stumbling around my computer searching for my lost files just now, I found them in the Trash, but only when viewed through the Finder window and they are Greyed out like you asked about before!  What does being greyed out mean?  All the missing files seem to be there...