cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Update: Find information on Dropbox support during COVID-19 here
Close

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our users can answer all of your questions on files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

How can I clear the contents of my Dropbox without affecting my computer?

Explorer | Level 4

DropBox copied my whole computer inadvertently. I'm really new to DropBox and I want to clear teh entire contents without affecting everything on my computer. Not knowing much about DropBox I'm reluctant to do anything. I may have deleted a lot of files from DropBox and not sure if they are gone. I want to start over with a clean DropBox and more knowlege. 

6 Replies 6
Highlighted

Re: Deleting files

Dropboxer
Dropboxer

Hey there @JoJoMiro, thanks for reaching out to us here!

From what you mentioned, it sounds like you enabled the computer backup feature during the installation of the desktop app on your computer. This syncs your Desktop, Downloads and Documents folders to Dropbox.

If you'd like to disable this then please follow the steps outlined towards the bottom of this article. Then, you can move the files from your Dropbox folder back to your local computer folders.

Let me know how it goes and we can take it from there!

Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
https://dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Highlighted

Explorer | Level 4

Thanks, seems DropBox is too dangerous to use without fully understanding how it works and why. I'd like to start over with an empty box. Right now it is full and it would be much easier to add rather than delete.

Highlighted

Dropboxer