cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: How to Leave a Shared Folder

How to Leave a Shared Folder

Silvia K.3
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I'm relatively new to DropBox, and I'm using DropBox Basic, with no interest in upgrading to Pro at this time.  A client has shared a folder with me that includes many subfolders, and I have just reached my space limit.  I'd like to leave some of those subfolders to open up some space.  Is this possible, and how do I do it?  Is the only solution to leave that top-level folder?  If so, will that interfere with the client's ability to share with me more subfolders of that top-level share in future?  I need to be able to let the client share new subfolders, while I drop older subfolders to maintain a reasonable amount of space.

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Dermot D.1
New member | Level 1
Go to solution

Here you go. Should work. I just did it myself and I didn't own the folder. It worked perfectly.

1. Hit Sharing button

2. You will get a list of folders that are shared with you. Click on the share box beside the one you want to get rid of.

3.  You can't manage the folder but you will notice a box that states that you can edit this folder. Click on 'Can edit'.

4.  Now you will notice 'Remove my access' in red. Click on it.

5.  You will be asked if you want to keep a copy of the folder. I declined and the folder was deleted from dropbox.

Hope this helps.

Dermot

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Chris_J
Super User
Go to solution