cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Check out the Dropbox cheat sheet for getting started in 2021 here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I bought an e-book which was shared with me through Dropbox, but I can't open the file. Any help?

I bought an e-book which was shared with me through Dropbox, but I can't open the file. Any help?

Helpful | Level 5

Hi! I'm completely new to Dropbox. I bought an e-book which was sent to me via Dropbox as a shared file, but it doesn't open using any of the recommended methods. I've created a Dropbox account, downloaded the app, gone to the Shared page. Supposedly an Add option will come up when I click on the file, but Add isn't in the list that appears. I've tried opening it out of Downloads, but nothing happens. Does anyone have any helpful ideas?

Thank you.

14 Replies 14

Re: opening a shared file

Dropboxer

Hi @Aoitengu, I hope you're doing well!

Could you just clarify for me, was the file shared with your individually, or was it within a folder that was shared with you?

If it was shared as a singular file, were you checking the file from here?

The "add" option would only show for a shared folder, as a shared folder can be added to your Dropbox account, while a shared file will only be visible from your Sharing tab.

Let me know and we can go from there!

Daphne
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, please give it a Like below.
Still stuck? Ask me a question!
Tips & Tricks Find new ways to stay in flow or share your tips on how you work smarter with Dropbox.

Helpful | Level 5

Hi Daphne!