It seems that you somehow enabled the computer backup feature at some point; could you take a look at the relevant documentation and let me know if that's the case?
I hope this helps to some extent.
Sorry, I missed the email, and it's probably expired by now. I'm sorry for the inconvenience...
I'm setting a reminder to monitor my inbox over the coming week if you wouldn't mind sending a new one.
Regarding the information that you'd like me to forward, are you referring to the screencasts I took?
Hi @Copperbad, I have emailed you again to your address. Please reply within this week with the screencasts in order to investigate the matter further. Thanks!
In my case, i uninstalled the Dropbox desktop version so i am only using the web browser to access my files.
Earlier on before i uninstalled the desktop version, i think i did select the option to sync my desktop so right now most of my files are showing up and just taking up all my space. How do i remove this My PC so i can free up space.
Can i do this directly from the browser?
If not, try doing so, and then see if you can delete the My PC folder from the Dropbox site.
This is similar to my issue. I am not sure how ALL the files on my computer got uploaded to dropbox but it happened. Now I am out of space and am being told I need to upgrade. I just want to go back to having the files on Dropbox that I share with co workers. When I try to delete any files from Dropbox I get a box that tells me the files will be deleted from my competer as well. I just want to delete them from Dropbox.
Afterwards, you can move the folders and files back to their previous locations on your machine, which will also delete them from the Dropbox account online.
Thanks for the response. It kinda worked, however when I go to remove My PC from my Dropbox files I am given a warning box saying that it will remove those files from all devices. Since I don't want to lose the files on my computer I am reluctant to say OK to that. Am I reading that wrong?
The message that you mentioned, @Farrier, is referring to removing those files from the Dropbox folder on this computer and any other devices you're syncing to.
If you have any files still within the "My PC" folder, even after disabling the backup, I would suggest moving these files back to the original locations on your computer before deleting the folders though.
The way we work is changing. Share and discover new ways to work smarter with Dropbox in our community.Sound good? Let's get started.
For more info on available support options, see this article.
If you found the answer to your question, please 'like' the post to say thanks to the user!