cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Back again with another edition of 'How we use Dropbox', so find out how Ross uses Dropbox to answer some new house questions here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Images downloaded from Dropbox are corrupt

Images downloaded from Dropbox are corrupt

CarneyImages
New member | Level 2

I'm a photographer, and use Dropbox to distribute images to my clients. A graphic designer has been having complications with images that I upload to a shared folder. The images, JPGs, will not load into Adobe InDesign when she downloads them from Dropbox. After troubleshooting with her, Dropbox is the issue. The same exact files that I originally uploaded in Dropbox were uploaded through Google Drive through which she was able to download fine, and then open in Adobe. There is no change in the file other than the source of download. Both Dropbox and Google Drive had the exact same files, but seem to handle them differently.

The file shows as either a black box, or a static screen image in InDesign when sourced from Dropbox. It shows as a normal image when sourced from another file sharing service.

Is there a known issue, or work around to fix this in the long term. This will be a deciding factor in my continues use of Dropbox as I work in a high volume market, and need reliability on a daily basis in order to keep up with the amount of work I am handling.

Any info is very welcome.

3 Replies 3

Re: Images downloaded from Dropbox are corrupt

Hannah
Dropboxer

Hey @CarneyImages, thanks for reaching out. 

Do the image files in question preview correctly on our website?