cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Lightroom and Dropbox Pro Nightmare

Lightroom and Dropbox Pro Nightmare

blueeyes2
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

I'm a photographer and was hoping that upgrading to Dropbox Pro would help my workflow but it's been a nightmare and I'm wondering if anyone can help. 

I am using lightroom and I have one catalogue for 2018 but then I create folders with the raw files in them based on sessions/shoots.  Previously when I hadn't upgraded I would use selective sync to unsync the raw folder after I was finished with them to save space. 

Since I upgraded to 'smart sync' I've basically done the same thing but it's like they won't stay 'online only' and keep downloading the raw files every time I scroll through my lightroom catalogue.  As such, my hard drive is completely full and I can't do anything - like nothing for the past two days as my harddrive is full.  I checked my mac storage and the largest files taking up space are from 2016 in a file that I have selected to be online only.

I've gone in to finder MULTIPLE times selected these folders and selected 'online only' but then whenever I go back to lightroom it starts downloading the files again.  Any suggestions?  I'm losing my mind and really wanting to drop back down to the previous version as it seems even with smart sync I can only have the one file I'm using t be local.

Ironically I keep getting a pop up message from dropbox saying 'your harddrive is full, use smart sync to free up space' - I'M TRYING!!