cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Check out the Dropbox cheat sheet for getting started in 2021 here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost 1st chapter need it back HELP

Lost 1st chapter need it back HELP

New member | Level 2

Is there any way I can retrieve this very important document please help

Where did my book go? need help,
Hello I have been writing a book for three years, three days ago I was working from computer to computer and notice that Dropbox was not sinking, when I corrected the syncing it still did not sink I notice that both computers had different versions of Dropbox.

I Uploaded to the newest version on one computer so it would be compatible with the other computer. However, Dropbox required that I delete three Devices, I only had 3 devices two computers and one phone, however there were more devices on there, a windows device and I deleted the windows device and to other devices and now I can not find the first chapter of my book. I see the file is there when I click on the file it says this file has been moved or delete, is there any way I can retrieve this very important document please help I tried the recovery no luck I no longer see the file. can I do a restore and get all the old files back?

4 Replies 4

Re: Lost 1st chapter need it back HELP

Dropboxer

Hello @zohaib316, I'd be more than happy to help look into this with you. 

I'll just need a few more details, such as:

• A screenshot of the error message that you get when you try to open the file. 
  • What does your events page say in regards to the file? 
  • Can you find the file on the device that you unlinked? 

Keep me posted!

Lusil
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support