cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know all about tools for creatives that work seamlessly with Dropbox, like Adobe? Well, check it out right here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem sharing folder with outside consultant

Problem sharing folder with outside consultant

Tracey-CHSW
New member | Level 2

I have a business dropbox account.  I am a team admin.  I created "owner" a folder and shared it with 2 fellow employees.  When I went to share the folder with a consultant outside of my company - that does have a dropbox account - I was not allowed to share the folder.  I checked the settings and the folder membership was set to ANYONE.  I was not able to send a link to the consultant either.  I "unshared" the folder thinking maybe I needed to share with everyone at the same time.  I am still not allowed to share with the outside consultant. 

Any suggestions?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Problem sharing folder with outside consultant

Rich
Super User II

@Tracey-CHSW wrote:

I have a business dropbox account.  I am a team admin. ... When I went to share the folder with a consultant outside of my company ... I was not allowed to share the folder.

Do you have external sharing set to On within your team's settings?

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

Rich
Super User II

@Tracey-CHSW wrote:

I have a business dropbox account.  I am a team admin. ... When I went to share the folder with a consultant outside of my company ... I was not allowed to share the folder.

Do you have external sharing set to On within your team's settings?

View solution in original post

Tracey-CHSW
New member | Level 2

Rich - thanks for the info that was the issue. 

Tracey