cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know all about tools for creatives that work seamlessly with Dropbox, like Adobe? Well, check it out right here!

Dropbox files & folders

Get in sync with the Dropbox Community. Our members can answer all your questions on Dropbox files and folders. Join a discussion or start your own today.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Selective Sink, low hard drive spaces and files wont remove form computer

Selective Sink, low hard drive spaces and files wont remove form computer

vblack
New member | Level 2

Help! How do I remove files when I don't have enough disk space to store the deletion data from selective sync & without deleting my original files from DropBox online?

My laptops scratch disk / hard drives space is maxed out because my DropBox setings accidentallly changed to add all my folders to my computer. (I'm a filmmaker and I store huge video files and 1,000's of clips / photos in my Dropbox).  Now my harddrive does not have enugh storage space for the data needed to update my new selective sync preferences.  I unchecked all the boxes in Selective stroage to remove files; the dropbox folders are no longer checked when I go back into the selective sync settings page, but the preferences still show that my dropbox files are on my computer.  I've restarted my computer several times and have been trying to remove these files for seevral days.

I am trying to disconnect all my dropbox folders from my computer, so they only live online and I can free up harddrived space.  Now my computer is in a grid lock and I cannot use it.  My programs on my computer keep shutting down (i.e. Chrome, Primere Pro & my computer keeps freezing).  I don't want just delete files labeled in the "Dropbox Folder" in my USERS section, because I am worried it will delelte all my original Dropbox files online.